The Adventure Continues

I love photography, but I don’t get too attached to my own photographs.

I was the Director of Photography at The Christian Science Monitor in Boston off and on for thirteen years. For about six of those years I was a Senior Photographer traveling extensively covering both domestic as well as foreign assignments. The rest of the time I was in the newsroom as the Picture Editor. That job entailed assigning and coordinating staff photographers with word editors and reporters, hiring freelancers to do the same, and then showing up each day to a page one meeting with photographs generated from staffers, freelancers, agencies, and the wires.

The best part of that job, was being on assignment, second was the brainstorming with editors and staff for future stories, third was hiring freelancers as I had been one for nearly 10 years and now I could pass that opportunity on while encouraging and nurturing less experienced newcomers.

I kept a long list of story ideas that were always popping into my head at random times. Initially these were ideas that I wanted to pursue for myself. The reality was my time was consumed by the daily running of the photo department, so I gave away most of my ideas. Oddly, I never had a problem with that. I always felt that if the story was important, then it needed to be done, and it seemed inconsequential who did it.

Here are a few more from my house and garden. I keep seeing more every time I venture out or look through a window. Always exciting, even in this limited space. The weather is warming, so with my face mask and camera I expect to venture out, exploring the neighborhood.

Published by

nealmensch

I am intensely curious about all things, and as long as I can remember I have been a listener and an obsessive curator of stories. The poet Murial Rukheyser said, “The universe is made up of stories, not atoms." I believe stories are a tool for the creation of understanding and it brings them, and us, to life. I am on a quest to discover and bring stories to light. Join me as I, through the medium of photography, explore and share.

Leave a comment